2011 Ironman Canada Race Recap

On Aug. 28, 2011 after 6 months of training, 4 practice races, and a boat load of knowledge and experience gained I completed my first Ironman triathlon, the 2011 Ironman Canada. It was an extremely hot and windy day in Penticton and although my race didn’t go completely as I had planned, I had a great time, it was an incredible experience, and it was a memorable end to my rookie triathlon season.

My parents, friends, and amazing girl were there to cheer me on and we all celebrated together at the finish line. I can’t thank them enough for all the support and encouragement they gave me throughout the last few months. So now onto the race recap!

Pre-race:

The day began at 4am. I woke up, had some coffee, ate some bacon, hard boiled eggs, and drank a home-made smoothie. I arrived in Penticton at 5:15am, dropped off my two transition bags (which contained my swim to bike gear, and bike to run gear) and then proceeded to set up my bike with my race nutrition….. Or should I say, my not so effective, race nutrition (more on that later).

Pre-race with friend and fellow Competitor Kellen

On to the Swim: Time – 58:32, 9/126 (25-29 Age Group), 102/2880 (Overall)

I then put my wetsuit on and entered the water at 6:30 for a little warm up. Man oh man, was the water ever warm! I was sweating in my wetsuit and part of me wanted to take it off and swim without it. Nevertheless, I left it on (mostly because everyone else had one on) and chilled out in the shallow water waiting for my 7:00am start. The pros started at 6:45 and the next 15 minutes flew by. Before I new it, we had one minute to the start. I had a few quick laughs with the athletes around me and then bang! off we went. I was positioned front and centre with 2880 other ironman athletes behind and beside me. I thought I’d be able to swim straight out of the pack with a 200-300 meter sprint and have some solid clear water to use to find my rhythm. WAS I EVER MISTAKEN! The gun went and we all started swimming, and it was an absolutely mad house out there!

I had started 4 races prior to this one and had never imagined a swim could be so rough. Think UFC in a washing machine….. I tried to remain excited and positive throughout the swim, but it was really really hard. People on your left, on your right, in front, behind, smacking your face, your head, your feet… I even had one women swim over top of me and pull back on my shoulder… Not overall cool, but its all part of racing.

The swim/madness ensues!

All throughout this barrage, I just tried to remain calm, keep optimistic, and keep my heart rate down. The other challenging aspect of the swim was the heat. The water was pretty warm so I overheated in my wetsuit and by half way I was in a full out sweat. I thought about stopping to let cool water in but I just kept pushing on and hoping not to lose too much electrolytes through sweat before hitting the bike.

The swim finished well, with a nice space forming in the group I was swimming with. It was a nice break from the UFC style swimming I had grown so accustomed too :). I came out of the water in 58:32, good for 9th in my age group, 102 overall.

Exiting the water in 58:32

On to the Bike: 5:20:22, 9th/126 Age group, 111 Overall

The bike is by far my favourite part of triathlon. I exited the water excited and looking forward to the bike portion of the ironman. I settled into a rhythm early in the bike course, but was amazed by how much energy the swim had taken out of me. Although I had paced myself on the swim, I don’t think I accurately compensated for the the energy and electrolytes I lost. I say this because at about 40km into the bike I had a deep deep abdominal cramp that almost made me crash on the side of the road! I sat up in agony holding on with my left hand, and the pain was merciless. Eventually it subsided enough to let me resume the aero position and I just kept a close eye on it throughout the rest of the bike, trying to be careful not to trigger another spasm. Was it the heat? Was it nerves? Did I tweak it unknowingly in the swim? I don’t know, but it was a little extra race day adversity which added to the fun of it all!

So the bike continued on, and although it was bloody hot out and very windy, I had a really fun ride. I did however run out of energy at about 150km and rode the last 30km with what seemed like little chicken legs. I was pacing properly, I was eating and drinking, but I guess I had just not figured out my nutrition properly. Either way, I pushed through it, and gracefully let go of all ambitions to qualify for the World Champs in Kona on my first try. In a race this long, you gotta have all the elements figured out. I had fitness, I had pacing, but I simply didn’t have nutrition and hats off to my fellow competitors who did. They rocked it!

So into town we came, 5:20:22 after I started. I had tried to calm my heart as much as possible in the final 20km, to somehow re-ignite the fire and get my energy back, but it just didn’t seem to work. I didn’t get down though, heck I was having a blast out there. I looked forward to making it into transition 2, and getting out onto the run…. I also tried not to think about the 30 something degree temperatures awaiting.

Run: 4:14:38, 34/126 in age group, 454/2880 Overall

I hit the run out of T2 full of steam, or at least thats what I told myself I was feeling. In reality, I was flat. I saw my parents, friends, and amazing girl and had a few moments high fiving, and celebrating with them before heading out of town. My girl Emily even ran beside me for a few metres which was really awesome. In reality though, I was hurting and didn’t know how I was going to make it the whole 42 km!

Emily running along side me as I head out on the run course

My strategy was to manage and mitigate my fatigue as best as possible, and maintain enough energy to run the last 10km and finish strong. That is exactly what I did. People kept passing me, some quickly, some slowly, some looking great, some looking like they were on the limit. I was amazed and humbled by all of them, pushing on through the heat like it was a casual jog on any given day. I was tired, but I was also amazed because my muscles themselves felt fine. It was like I just didn’t have any gas in the tank.

FInally at the 30km mark I allowed myself to try the cola they were serving on course. I knew the pros drink the stuff so it must work, but I didn’t want to succumb to it. I hate pop for a few reasons, but mostly I just don’t like the idea of putting all those chemicals in your body. Honestly though, 30 seconds after I drank a small cup of the stuff, I felt amazing. I ran the final 12km at 4:45/km pace and finished the race in a full on sprint. Ya sure I had a super boost of energy when I entered town and saw my friends and family, but I have to give a tonne of credit to the good ole fashioned sugar and caffeine contained in cola. Its a wonder drug for endurance athletes!

Heading out on the run, hurting, but all smiles

Another plus on the run were my innov8 f-lite 195 minimalist running shoes. They are actually shoes used most often in crossfit gyms, but I love the pure minimalist, zero drop, no support, light weight nature of the shoe. Its proof that you don’t need big cumbersome running shoes to cushion and pad your feet. My feet felt great the entire race.

I finished in 10:38:01 and felt amazing. Being my first race at this distance I didn’t know how I’d feel, but I was just amazed.

First time ironman finisher, Tristan Jenkin, very stoked!

My training plan www.crossfitendurance.com had prepared me so well that my legs felt incredible, and I had no muscle soreness anywhere! I couldn’t believe it. I went over the the food tent, grabbed some soup, fruit, and water, and chilled out with my team (my girlfriend had made t-shirts for everyone to wear).

My amazing team of friends and family!

Incredible friends

Will I do this race ever again. YES. Will I do anything different? Yes. I will train for a longer period of time, and I will make sure to figure out my nutrition properly. I learned you can wing it in the half iron distance, but you had better get your game plan figured out if you ever want to be a true top competitor at Ironman.

Me and my very proud parents

For all of those whom took the time to read this, thank you! I eat along the lines of the paleolithic diet, I train crossfit endurance, I love triathlon, and I encourage you to try it out for yourself. 8 hours a week, for 6 months and Ironman is obtainable!

As for the heat? I don’t know what to say… perhaps training in a Sauna would help? Good luck!

18 Responses to “2011 Ironman Canada Race Recap”

  1. […] Continue reading Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tweet about it Subscribe to the comments on this post Tell a friend […]

  2. Hey Tristan, I found your article on Brian McKenzie’s Unscared site. Great experiment and great write-up. Congrats on the finish.

  3. Not really. More of a generalist. I’ve done adventure racing, mountain bike racing, Olympic triathlons, ultra-marathons (only up to 50 miles), and do a lot of other stuff like CF, parkour, and krav maga so just kinda keep busy. Did my CFE cert with Brian 2 years ago. He has a good team. Always curious to see how this CFE approach is or is not working as an alternate protocol compared to the tried and tested and proven LSD work. For my ultra year last year, I did mostly CF and LSD runs – very little sprint work so it was not really a CFE protocol year. If I do longer distance racing next year, I’m open to shifting to more of a CFE style approach just so that I can lessen the training volume. Feel free to ping me offline (off the thread of this page) if you want to continue the conversation (troy at troyangrignon dot com). Keep training hard.

  4. Great to read about your adventure. Great job on the IM!

  5. Great work on the Ironman. I too am doing my first Ironman in 2 weeks on just CFE. The season has been great so far with many PR’s. Curious on what your taper looked like going into IM Canada.

    Thanks

    • Hi Brian,
      Its great to hear you had such a strong season! I am not surprised to hear it. Every aspect of the training plan makes sense, and you get your personal life back to enjoy down time with family and friends…. Which keeps you motivated to race and train harder. Good luck with your ironman! My advice to you as a fellow first time ironman competitor: Your legs will be fine, but make sure you take in enough nutrition to account for the full 4km swim. I jumped on the bike with enough nutrition to cover me over 180km, but didn’t account for the 58 minutes I spent in the water, or the insane heat in penticton. I ran outta gas.

      Also, don’t hesitate to start drinking cola if you’re feeling low. Drink it at every aid station. Its a wonder drug. I wish I had started drinking it as soon as I got off the bike.

      Good luck and let me know how it goes!

    • I got my taper from Brian Mackenzie at http://www.crossfitendurance.com

      Here it is:

      Its simple, go hard until about 10 days out. Start back ing off intensity at that point, and volume. Weekend before do an easy 90min-2hr ride, and an easy 10k-10M run on the follwing day. The week of, Monday, heavy lift with a swim in the afternoon. NEURO ENDOCRINE response time again. Tuesday: 10 min Cindy or something similar, and run 8 x 200m repeats at 80% w/ 2 min recovery in the afternoon. Wednesday 15M bike with 5-10 1min moderate to hard efforts followed by 2 min spinning. Thursday OFF, Friday 3 rounds of swim 5 min, bike 15 min, run 10 min all easy focusing on form. Saturday off or easy swim, Sunday Race

      Have fun man.

      • Thanks for the advice on the taper and the nutrition after the swim. I just finished my first IM last night and I think I nailed the nutrition end. Definitely needed to train longer before this though. Finished in 11:10:55 for 3rd in my age group. And you were right about the defizzed cola. It rocked at about mile 18 and was like gasoline on a fire. Now its back to the paleo lifestyle and a little rest.

  6. Man, try some of my sauna workouts! From jogging in place to split jumps to full out olympic lifts, ive done it all at 200°F in the sauna. Try on out and throw me a comment with what you thought.

  7. Well done Brian! That is a killer time and third in your age group is amazing. Great to hear you nailed the nutrition aspect. What did you use, besides the defizzed cola?

  8. I will preface this with my usual diet being 85/15 Paleo. So races being a change to my normal diet, I had to be careful to not upset my digestive system. The products I have had succes with are hammer gels and Infinit Nutrition. I used a hammer gel (with caffeine) right before the swim and right after the swim to account for the energy used during that chaotic mess. I usually don’t do that, but after reading your post I added it to my nutrition plan. Once on the bike I started using my Infinit Nutrition. Its an all in one hydration, calories, protein, and electrolytes. All custom blended to meet my needs. You can even adjust the flavor. The website to make it is http://www.infinitnutrition.us/. I put three bottles on my bike and drank 1 per hour. This gave me 20-24 ounces of water, about 300 calories, and plenty of electrolytes. At special needs I picked up 3 more bottles for the second half of the ride. I used no additional sources on the bike. It makes it real simple instead of dealing with gels, pills, and water on the bike. On the run I fed off the course and went back to Hammer gels every 30 minutes, water, and cola. The gels and Infinit both use maltodextrin so the sugars didn’t upset my stomach. This worked well and I will continue to tweak it to get some more performance out of it. My next IM is New York in August so I have some time to experiment.

  9. Good to meet you at the crossfit endurance cert in Vancouver.
    Good luck in your future endevours!

Leave a comment